Learning

only so late

Confucius, one of the great figures of religious philosophy, said of himself almost two thousand years ago: “At fifty I understood the law of heaven; at sixty nothing that I heard disturbed me; at seventy I could follow the desires of my heart without transgressing the right.” Only so late was this wise man near to obtaining “peace of mind,” at an almost-balance between the impulses and demands of the superego.

Reik, Theodor. Myth and Guilt: The Crime and Punishment of Mankind. New York: George Braziller Inc., 1957. 233. Print.

Standard

Leave a Reply

